Two Blondes Go to a Movie: Sunshine Cleaning

Two Blondes review a movie and mostly ramble about themselves:

JESSICA SAYS:

Are you starting to get a little depressed after suffering through an economic ‘downturn’ or ‘recession’ or ‘complete and total implosion’ or whatever you want to call it?  Sick of the malaise of winter (I know, I live in LA, but I remember what it’s like elsewhere) and ready for a little pick me up?  Well, have ‘the producers of Little Miss Sunshine’ got just the thing for you!  Sunshine Cleaning!  You know how Amazon will give you those, “If you like Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, then you’ll also like…The Hobbit?”  Well, the correlation between Sunshine Cleaning and Little Miss Sunshine is too great to ignore, so if you loved Little Miss Sunshine and you want to see the exact same movie again, then might I suggestSunshine Cleaning!

I’m not saying the fact that they are twins is necessarily bad.  I liked Little Miss Sunshine.  I was throughly entertained watching Sunshine Cleaning.  Alan Arkin plays exactly the same role in both films, but hey – it won him an Oscar the first time around, so why not give it another go?  I’m not sure there are two more charming actresses working these days than Amy Adams and Emily Blunt.  Plus, I adore Mary Lynn Rajskub.  She’s quirky, smart, and perfectly cast in her role here.  In someone else’s hands Rajskub’s character could have ended up a bit pathetic.  On a side note, I never really realized what a rockin’ little body Amy Adams has on her, but you see her in various stages of undress several times in this film and she manages to be even more adorable in a bra and panties than fully clothed.

In case you aren’t familiar with the plot, two down on their luck sisters decide to start a crime scene clean-up business.  However, they are a little short of the knowledge and required training certificates for such a job.  Chaos, hilarity, and emotional growth ensue.  I was impressed with what I felt was a pretty accurate portrayal of the remarkable relationship between sisters (and I have two of my own).  You love each other, you are annoyed by each other, but no one will ever understand you the same way that your sibling does.  It made me miss my sisters a little bit.

I recommend seeing Sunshine Cleaning in theaters.  I mean, we all need a little pick me up and if we all go out to the movies, it pumps cash back into the economy.  It’s a win-win!

ALISON SAYS:

I remember reading an article about people who ran a business cleaning up crime scenes and thinking that would make a good movie.  And it did.  Of course when you add Amy Adams, Emily Blunt and Alan Arkin, it’s hard not to make something that’s going to be entertaining.

I’m so glad someone like Amy Adams made it to the top of the heap of the many, many actors in the world.  She’s always a delight and eternally charming and really good as Rose Lorkowski.  Of course she had another wonderful actress, Emily Blunt, to play off of.  These are two women who gained big careers out of small roles in previous films, and I can’t think of anyone who deserves it more.

Can we also talk about Clifton Collins Jr?  I’ve never been the type of girl to crush on a guy who makes model helicopters and has a long greasy ponytail, but Collins is amazing as Winston.  There’s a sweetness and quiet strength that just draws you in, despite the character’s ponytail.

I was super excited when I realized this film was written by a woman and directed by another woman.  Can I get a “what what” for girl power?  Okay, I realize I may lose both Jessica and a large percentage of my audience for that last sentence, but sometimes it’s okay to show enthusiasm in a nerdy, outdated manner, especially when it’s enthusiasm for female filmmakers.  As a whole, I enjoyed the film immensely.  I laughed a lot (along with the packed house at Arclight).  I even felt a tad choked up during one sad scene that I knew was coming (it was in the trailer), and was annoyed at myself for being so manipulated.

There were definitely some predictable plot points and character background that you could see coming from a mile away, but I was still glad I went to see it.

LA Viewers: Go check out a matinee at Arclight.

Translation for non-LA viewers: Yay for matinees and yay for movie theater popcorn!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

