Two Blondes Countdown to the Oscars: Best Adapted Screenplay

We’re counting down to the Oscars on Feb. 27 by giving our thoughts and opinions on each of the major categories, one per day, until the big day.  First up, Best Adapted Screenplay!

The Nominees:

127 Hours

The Social Network

Toy Story 3

True Grit

Winter’s Bone

WHO WE THINK WILL WIN

Jessica:  The Social Network

Alison: The Social Network.

WHO WE WANT TO WIN:

Jessica:  The Social Network.  I know film is a visual medium, but man, do I love talky movies and The Social Network is talky.  I love Aaron Sorkin’s style – that rat-tat-tat-tat dialogue.  On top of that, this movie was ‘adapted’ from a book that was being written simultaneously based on deposition transcripts and interviews with the real-life people.  That’s a fascinating process.

Alison:  This one’s tough for me. Was I utterly absorbed by the movie The Social Network? Yes.  Did I love some of the dialogue heavy scenes between Jesse Eisenberg and the lawyers pursuing a case against him? Yes!! (Double exclamation was on purpose.)  Was I emotionally attached to the characters in the film?  No.  Was I emotionally attached to the characters in Toy Story 3 and may have even teared up a little while watching that film….yes.  So there is a part of me that wants Toy Story 3 to win because it moved me more.  I still think The Social Network is a great film and would be happy to see Aaron Sorkin win.  But for me, the thing I remember most from that film is the music.  I LOVED the music.  But that’s another topic for another blog post.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

